Dear Students, Faculty and Staff,

Welcome back!

As we begin our 2019-2020 academic year I want to acknowledge our incoming undergraduate and graduate students as they join our community of students, staff and faculty. I also want to provide a brief reflection on recent activities and accomplishments and speak about some of the events and educational opportunities for the coming year.

Recent alumni accomplishments include Mariam Kamara (MArch 2013) being one of seven Prince Claus Laureates for 2019. The Prince Claus Awards, an international awards program in honor of Prince Claus of the Netherlands, honors visionary individuals and organizations for their excellent, ground-breaking work in fields of culture and development. Congratulations to Mariam for this significant recognition of her highly creative practice!

Also notable is undergraduate Bachelor of Arts in Architectural Design student David Cox being acknowledged as one of the Husky 100 during Spring 2019. In addition from last spring, five students garnered prizes at the 2019 Boise Chair Affair sponsored by the Interior Designers of Idaho. The awards are: Best undergraduate student design (Sonny Han, 2019); Best craftsmanship (Josiah Wu, 2018); Most functional (Ingrid Pelletier, 2019); and Honorable mention (Veronica Restrepo, 2018 Ganesh Shrestha, 2019). All students were advised by faculty Penny Maulden and Steve Withycombe.

More recently awards were given to all six UW Architecture submissions for the 2019 AIA Northwest and Pacific Region Student Design Awards program. These awards are as follows: Honor Award – Sarah Long, “Theater of Food,” Arch 504, Elizabeth Golden, faculty; Merit Award – “In-tension,” Arch 402/505, Tyler Sprague and Sigrid Adriaenssens, faculty; Merit Award – Edward Kim, “Elliot Bay Labs,” Arch 504, Boris Srdar, faculty; Merit Award – Lean Octavio, “Cook + House – Market Hall & Cookhouse Public Access at Pier 48,” Arch 504, Jim Nichols, faculty; Citation Award – Michael Laurencelle, “Design for Reassembly: A Flexible Response to the Demand for Housing,” MArch Thesis, Rick Mohler and Peter Cohan, faculty; Citation Award – “Tool Box: Nathan Hale Urban Farm,” Arch 402/505, Steve Badanes and Jake Labarre, faculty.

In addition, M.Arch. student George Lee was awarded an Honorable Mention in the American Institute of Steel Construction (AISC) and Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA) 2019 Steel Student Design Competition for his Arch 504 studio project, “The Power of Water,” Boris Srdar, faculty. A final significant accomplishment by one of our students is M.Arch. student Caleb Killian being selected as one of two recipients of the 2019 Ghost Residency where he will apprentice under Brian MacKay-Lyons at this studio in Nova Scotia, Canada, from September 2019 – June 2020.

Especially notable for this coming academic year is that during the Spring of 2020 the Department of Architecture will mark the 50th Anniversary of the Architecture in Rome (AIR) Program with a series of celebratory events which we are calling AIR 50. These include an exhibition of student work of alums of the program that opens in early May; an evening panel discussion of AIR alums; and a couple of Wednesday evening lectures that are Rome-themed. Stay tuned for more details on these events. The culminating celebration for Rome 2020 will be a fundraising dinner and auction held in Gould Court on the evening of Friday, May 15, 2020. This event will combine an elegant meal with a select series of auction items in a lively setting. The goal of the evening is to raise money for an endowed student support fund to encourage participation in the program through its next 50 years.

With regard to our academic programs, this will be the third and final year of implementation of our revised Master of Architecture curriculum. An important element of this change is the addition of a non-thesis option, which we are calling our Research Studios. These studios will be offered for the first time this academic year, as follows: Winter 2020 – Kimo Griggs and Glenn Stellmacher, “Proto-Timber”; and Rick Mohler, “The Rise and Fall of Single Family Housing”; and Spring 2020 – Dave Miller, Claire Rennhack and Scott Wolf, “Designing Infrastructure as Architecture”; Rob Peña and Gundula Proksch, “CITYFOOD: Integrated Building Systems Ecology”; and Tyler Sprague and Mitsuhiro Kanada, teaching the Onouye Endowed Chair studio on structural architecture (more below). We look forward to seeing the results of these new research-focused studios and to the graduation of the first cohort in our new curriculum!

New educational opportunities for this year include the appointment of Mitsuhiro Kanada of Arup and Tokyo University of the Arts as the Barry Onouye Endowed Chair for the 2019-2020 academic year. Professor Kanada will give a lecture this fall and co-teach a graduate level research studio and a seminar on structural architecture with Assistant Professor Tyler Sprague during spring quarter 2020. Given his experience working with international architects like Toyo Ito and Zaha Hadid and his interest in dynamic structures we are likely to see something exciting and innovative from this studio. In addition, I am happy to announce that during fall quarter 2019 Daniel Glenn of 7 Directions Architects/Planners will co-teach a graduate level studio with Senior Lecturer Jim Nicholls focusing on indigenous Northwest architecture and culture. Other studio offerings include two short term travel studios during spring 2020—a first, traveling to Copenhagen, taught by Kimo Griggs and Erling Christoffersen, and a second, traveling to Tokyo, taught by Ken Oshima.

In closing I want to thank our faculty, staff and students for their efforts in making the UW Department of Architecture such a vital and positive learning environment.

All the best for the new academic year!

mclaren signature

Brian L. McLaren, PhD
Associate Professor and Chair
UW Department of Architecture