Skip to content

2023 Alumni Awards – Call for Nominations!

The Department of Architecture at the University of Washington is pleased to announce the return of the biannual Alumni Awards!

After a hiatus in 2021 due to COVID restrictions, we are soliciting nominations for notable alumni who have made significant contributions in two distinct categories.

The Distinguished Alumni Award honors an alumna or alumnus whose career achievements in the profession of architecture and the broader community have made a significant contribution to the built environment of the Puget Sound region and beyond. The recipients of this award are individuals who have had a distinguished career as evidenced in the excellence of their built work, the significance of their impact on the community, and the generosity of their commitment to the education of architects.

The Graduate of the Last Decade (GOLD) Award recognizes the accomplishments of an alumna or alumnus of the UW Department of Architecture within ten years of their graduation. The recipients of this award show great promise for expanding the impact of the profession of architecture through creative forms of practice and civic engagement.

This third cycle of the alumni awards is being conducted under the theme of “an architecture for the public good.” Our hope is that this will encourage nomination of graduates who have been active in proposing and executing projects, and pursuing models of practice, that establish a strong connection between architecture and the broader public.

Nominations will close on Monday, 6 February 2023 @ 6:00 pm PST

Click here to submit your nomination today!

For more information, please contact Brian McLaren.

Past Awardees

Distinguished Alumni Award
2017 | Lee Copeland and Steven Holl
2019 | Tom Kundig and George Suyama

Graduate of the Last Decade Award
2017 | Scott Crawford, Mariam Kamara, and Suk Lee
2019 | Jess Blanch, Jake LaBarre, and André Taybron