Skip to content

Student awards & recognition

Slider Image_AIA NWPDA composite


The Department of Architecture is pleased to share the news that several of our students and studio faculty were recognized at the 2019 AIA Northwest and Pacific Region Student Design Awards.

Citation, Honor, and Merit awards were given to the following:

Citation Award

Mike Laurencelle
Design for Reassembly: A Flexible Response to the Demand for Housing

Citation Award
Noor Awad
Ingrid Pelletier
Andrew Brown
Kelsey Pierson
Savek Butorac
Kylie Poon
Griffin Irving
Hector Saldivar
Weston Hambleton
Kyle Smith
George Lee
Haley Wilson
Amal Moussa
Ephrem Yared
& Tam Nguyen
The Toolbox

(Read more about this project, from the 2019 Neighborhood Design/Build Studio, here.)

Honor Award
Sarah Long
Theatre of Food

Merit Award
Adam Bichir
Elena Cortez
Elana Darnell
Mark Delpierre
Yuting Feng
Juan Granados Borreguero
Jess Kuntz
Steffen Pawlosky
Nick Portman
Kristin Ramsey
Anton Sagun
Daniel Vu
Lorryn Wilhelm &
Zixiao Zhu

(Read more about this project, from the 2019 Onouye Endowed Studio, here.)

Merit Award
Edward Kim
Elliot Bay Labs

Merit Award
Lean Octavio
Cook + House – Markethall & Cookhouse Public Access at Pier 48

M. Arch. student Caleb Killian has been selected for the 2019 Ghost Residency (internship) where he will apprentice from September – June under Brian MacKay-Lyons at this studio in Nova Scotia (Mackay-Lyons was the recipient of The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada 2015 Gold Medal and the Royal Institute of British Architects International Fellowship).

Finally, M. Arch student George Lee received an Honorable Mention for his project, THE SEATTLE WATER-ING HALL, in the 2018-2019 AISC/ACSA Steel Design Student Competition.  George’s faculty mentor was Boris Srdar.

Congratulations to all of our talented, hardworking students and faculty on receiving this recognition!