Skip to content

2020 AIA Honor Awards

The AIA Seattle Honor Awards for Washington Architecture is a nationally-recognized program that provides an important opportunity for the design community to share and celebrate its achievements, both among practitioners and with the community-at-large. The 70th Annual Honor Awards for Washington Architecture was held last week, and gave us all plenty to celebrate.  Their first-ever virtual live event revealed and celebrated 20 award winners and the greater design community.   Among the awardees were a sizable number of UW Architecture alumni, faculty, and PAC members.   We are pleased and proud that this community maintains such strong ties with our department and its students.

A partial list of the UW community’s awardees can be found below, and the complete awards catalog is now available online at this link.   (If you were among the awardees and we missed your name, give us a shout.)

Congratulations to all who were recognized for their stellar design work in our region!

Honor Awards Committee

Cody Lodi
Hilary Schnack
MacKenzie Cotters
Kailin Gregga
Siyu Qu

Award of Honor

Burke Museum of History & Culture

Olson Kundig: Tom Kundig, Julia Khorsand, Oliver Landa

Wagner Education Center, Center for Wooden Boats

Olson Kundig: Tom Kundig, Alan Maskin

Energy in Design Award

Keneda Building

Miller Hull: Ron Rochon. Brian Court, Matt Kikosocki, Steve Doub

Award of Merit

Blakely Elementary School

Mithun: Brendan Connolly

New Orleans Children’s Museum

Josh Distler, Susan Olmsted

Byrd Barr Place

SHKS:   The Byrd Barr Place project has involved a team including David Strauss (UW Affiliate Associate Professor), Andreas Baatz (UW grad), Alan Corrao, Theresa Freeman, Adam Hutschreider, and Pia Westen.

Honorable Mention

Ainsworth + Dunn

Weinstein AU: Ed Weinstein, Kirsten Wild, Emily Aune

Olympic High School

SKL: Rick Sundberg, Jeremy Imhoff

Seattle Asian Art Museum

LMN: Sam Miller, Lauren Patnoe

Seattle Light Denny Substation

NBBJ: CJ Brockway, John Savo

Kenmore Hangar

Graham Baba: Maureen O’Leary